Classic Games
Arcade Machines

The History of the Video Arcade
The Packman Theme
~ How to install the below MAME components

 UI Folders

  Filters

folders .zip

  Infos

dats .zip
history .zip

  Images

cabinets .zip - (caution: 2.6Gb)
cpanel .zip
howto .zip
marquees .zip
snap .zip - (caution: 1.5Gb)

 Program Folders

nvram .zip
roms .zip
samples .zip

Below are close to three hundred of the better emulated arcade video games from the 20th century. They have been grouped into arbitrary categories, for assistance in locating something appealing. Linked to the icon beside each game is a short "*.mp4" video preview of the game, which serves as an excellent game introduction or memory nudger. Both the icons and the videos are downloadable, and compatible for use within many emulator front-ends.

Included games were selected because of their unique concepts and their playability (sound and graphics being a far lesser criteria), and they range from easily mastered to frustratingly difficult. All of the below games are "Parents", that are working within MAME (although some may have imperfect graphics or sound emulation, which may require supplementing [see "samples.zip" above]). If you find a particular Parent enjoyable, explore the Clones and Bootlegs, as these sometimes play even better. Some exceptionally popular games have been intentionally left out because of their ubiquity, but in their place have been substituted some overshadowed alternatives. Several of the below games you may not have encountered before, due to their original low production quantity or geographic release restrictions, but they are still worthy of your time. Although a couple of the included games are not fully in English, their play is easily determined.

MAME by default uses only a keyboard to control games, but this can be supplemented with a commonly available control panel, such as a X-Arcade Tank Stick (which includes multiple buttons, two joysticks, and a trackball), to enhance your gaming experience. Although you can often substitute the controller type which shipped with a game for another type which functions in a similar manner, there are still several unique controllers that cannot be easily emulated, so games requiring these controllers (or other special hardware) have not been included below for download. For example, "Disks of Tron" requires the use of a specialized joystick for proper play. Same issue with driving games that use a force-feedback steering wheel. Some games, such as "Punch-Out!!", require two monitors to see everything, while light-gun and touch-screen games are totally unplayable without the supporting hardware.

Place your selected below game file into the MAME "roms" folder (do NOT unzip the file). A few games will also have an associated "*.chd" file. This file must also be placed into the "roms" folder, but stored in a sub-folder you create named exactly the same as the game file name (minus the "extension" of course). Each of these game files have been checked for completeness, although some may also require that an appropriate gaming system BIOS be placed in the "roms" folder along with the game [see "roms.zip" above].


 Action

  Avoiding

preview Botanic (English / Spanish) = botanic.zip
preview Crush Roller (set 1) = crush.zip
preview Domino Man = domino.zip
preview Dorodon (set 1) = dorodon.zip
preview Lasso = lasso.zip
preview Metal Freezer (Japan) = metlfrzr.zip
preview Mr. TNT = mrtnt.zip
preview New Rally X = nrallyx.zip
preview Solar Fox (upright) = solarfox.zip

  Bumping

preview Dig Dug (rev 2) = digdug.zip
preview Dynablaster / Bomber Man = dynablst.zip
preview Motos = motos.zip
preview Pengo (set 1 rev c) = pengo.zip
preview Reactor = reactor.zip
preview Tapper (Budweiser, set 1) = tapper.zip

  Chasing

preview Blazer (Japan) = blazer.zip
preview Bubbles = bubbles.zip
preview Dominos = dominos.zip
preview Jungler = jungler.zip
preview Quantum (rev 2) = quantum.zip
preview Tank Battalion = tankbatt.zip
preview Targ = targ.zip
preview Vindicators (rev 5) = vindictr.zip
preview Wiping = wiping.zip

  Dot Eating

preview Anteater = anteater.zip
preview Crystal Castles (version 4) = ccastles.zip
preview Dodgem = dodgem.zip
preview Jr. Pac-Man (11/9/83) = jrpacman.zip
preview Lady Bug = ladybug.zip
preview Nibbler (rev 9) = nibbler.zip
preview Pac-Mania = pacmania.zip
preview The Electric Yo-Yo (set 1) = elecyoyo.zip

  Dungeon Crawling

preview Cadash (World) = cadash.zip
preview Major Havoc (rev 3) = mhavoc.zip
preview Shackled (US) = shackled.zip
preview Tutankham = tutankhm.zip
preview Venture (version 5 set 1) = venture.zip

  Grid

preview Amidar = amidar.zip
preview Disco No.1 = disco.zip
preview Qix (Rev 2) = qix.zip

  Racing

preview Armadillo Racing (Rev. AM1 Ver.A) = adillor.zip
preview Burnin' Rubber = brubber.zip
preview Lethal Crash Race (set 1) = crshrace.zip
preview Neo Drift Out - New Technology = neodrift.zip
preview Over Top = overtop.zip
preview Rally Bike / Dash Yarou = rallybik.zip

  Strategy

preview Beezer (set 1) = beezer.zip
preview Gain Ground (World, 3 Players, Floppy Based, FD1094 317-0058-03d Rev A) = gground.zip
preview Gravitar (version 3) = gravitar.zip
preview Rampart (Trackball) = rampart.zip

 Ball & Paddle

  Breakout

preview Angel Kids (Japan) = angelkds.zip
preview Arkanoid (World, older) = arkanoid.zip
preview Block Block (World 911219 Joystick) = block.zip
preview Clowns (rev. 2) = clowns.zip
preview Quester (Japan) = quester.zip
preview Warlords = warlords.zip

  Juggling

preview Avalanche = avalnche.zip
preview Gypsy Juggler = gypsyjug.zip
preview Snacks'n Jaxson = snakjack.zip

  Pinball

preview Flipper Jack = flipjack.zip
preview Pinball Action (set 1) = pbaction.zip
preview Super Pinball Action (US) = spbactn.zip

 Fighter

  Beat 'em up

preview 64th. Street - A Detective Story (World) = 64street.zip
preview DJ Boy (set 1) = djboy.zip
preview Express Raider (World, Rev 4) = exprraid.zip
preview Golden Axe: The Revenge of Death Adder (World) = ga2.zip
preview Ikari III - The Rescue (World, 8-Way Joystick) = ikari3.zip
preview Kozure Ookami (Japan) = kozure.zip
preview Lady Master of Kung Fu = ladymstr.zip
preview Pretty Soldier Sailor Moon (Ver. 95/03/22B, Europe) = sailormn.zip
preview Skull & Crossbones (rev 5) = skullxbo.zip
preview Wonder Momo = wndrmomo.zip

  Giant Monsters

preview Dino Rex (World) = dinorex.zip
preview King of the Monsters (set 1) = kotm.zip
preview Rampage (Rev 3, 8/27/86) = rampage.zip
preview Ultraman (Japan) = ultraman.zip

  Versus

preview Darkstalkers: The Night Warriors (Euro 940705) = dstlk.zip
preview Matrimelee / Shin Gouketsuji Ichizoku Toukon (NGM-2660 ~ NGH-2660) = matrim.zip
preview Samurai Shodown / Samurai Spirits (NGM-045) = samsho.zip
preview Street Fighter II: The World Warrior (World 910522) = sf2.zip
preview The King of Fighters '98 - The Slugfest / King of Fighters '98 - Dream Match Never Ends (NGM-2420) = kof98.zip
preview Toukidenshou - Angel Eyes (VER. 960614) = tkdensho.zip
preview Yie Ar Kung-Fu (program code I) = yiear.zip

 Platform

  Climbing

preview Burger Time (Data East set 1) = btime.zip
preview Crazy Climber (US) = cclimber.zip
preview Donkey Kong 3 (US) = dkong.zip
preview Elevator Action Returns (Ver 2.2O 1995/02/20) = elvactr.zip
preview Kangaroo = kangaroo.zip
preview Lode Runner II - The Bungeling Strikes Back = ldrun2.zip
preview Mr. Do's Castle (set 1) = docastle.zip
preview Popeye (revision D) = popeye.zip
preview Roc'n Rope = rocnrope.zip
preview Super Glob = suprglob.zip

  Isometric

preview Escape from the Planet of the Robot Monsters (set 1) = eprom.zip
preview Marble Madness (set 1) = marble.zip
preview Marchen Maze (Japan) = mmaze.zip

  Jumping

preview Circus Charlie (level select, set 1) = circusc.zip
preview Flicky (128k Version, System 2, 315-5051) = flicky.zip
preview Freeze = freeze.zip
preview Joust (White/Green label) = joust.zip
preview Super Trio = suprtrio.zip
preview Up'n Down (315-5030) = upndown.zip
preview Zoo Keeper (set 1) = zookeep.zip

  Timed

preview Bonanza Bros (US, Floppy DS3-5000-07d? Based) = bnzabros.zip
preview Lemmings (US prototype) = lemmings.zip
preview Pang (World) = pang.zip
preview Penguin Brothers (Japan) = penbros.zip
preview Peter Pack-Rat = peterpak.zip

 Puzzle

  Insertion

preview 4 En Raya (set 1) = 4enraya.zip
preview Aqua Rush (Japan, AQ1/VER.A1) = aquarush.zip
preview Block Hole = blockhl.zip
preview Borench (set 1) = borench.zip
preview Magic Bubble = magicbub.zip
preview Puzz Loop (Europe, v0.94) = puzzloop.zip

  Matching

preview BeatHead (prototype) = beathead.zip
preview Dragon World II (ver. 110X, Export) = drgw2.zip
preview Pharaohs Match (Arcadia) = ar_pm.zip
preview Pickin' = pickin.zip
preview Q*bert (US set 1) = qbert.zip
preview Shanghai - The Great Wall / Shanghai Triple Threat (JUE 950623 V1.005) = shanhigw.zip

  Navigation

preview Amazing Maze = maze.zip
preview Chicken Shift = cshift.zip
preview Frogger = frogger.zip
preview Turtles = turtles.zip

  Simulation

preview Densha de GO! (Ver 2.2 J) = dendego.zip
preview Densha de GO! 2 Kousoku-hen (Ver 2.5 J) = dendego2.zip
preview Lunar Lander (rev 2) = llander.zip
preview Midnight Landing (Germany) = mlanding.zip

  Sliding

preview Boxy Boy (SB?) = boxyboy.zip
preview Brixian = brixian.zip
preview Loco-Motion = locomotn.zip
preview Orbs (10/7/94 prototype?) = orbs.zip
preview Puzzle Star (Sang Ho Soft) = pzlestar.zip
preview Qwak (prototype) = qwak.zip

 Shooter

  1st Person

preview Battle of the Solar System (rev. 1.1a 7/23/92) = botss.zip
preview Battle Shark (World) = bshark.zip
preview Battle Zone (rev 2) = bzone.zip
preview Blasted = blasted.zip
preview Dead Angle = deadang.zip
preview Pirates (set 1) = pirates.zip
preview Senjyo = senjyo.zip
preview Star Trek = startrek.zip
preview Tailgunner = tailg.zip

  Arena

preview Asteroids Deluxe (rev 3) = astdelux.zip
preview Black Widow = bwidow.zip
preview Bosconian (new version) = bosco.zip
preview Food Fight (rev 3) = foodf.zip
preview Grobda (New Ver.) = grobda.zip
preview Rip Off = ripoff.zip
preview Strategic Defense Initiative (Japan, newer, System 16A, FD1089B 317-0027) = sdi.zip
preview Sky Bumper = skybump.zip
preview Star Castle (version 3) = starcas.zip
preview Stargate = stargate.zip

  Bombing

preview Canyon Bomber = canyon.zip
preview Depthcharge = depthch.zip
preview Guided Missile = gmissile.zip
preview Liberator (set 1) = liberatr.zip
preview Missile Command (rev 3) = missile.zip
preview Pig Newton (version C) = pignewt.zip
preview Rip Cord = ripcord.zip
preview Sky Raider = skyraid.zip

  Horizontally Scrolling

preview Carrier Air Wing (World 901012) = cawing.zip
preview Cotton (set 4, World) (FD1094 317-0181a) = cotton.zip
preview Gradius 4: Fukkatsu = gradius4.zip
preview Super Cobra = scobra.zip
preview US AAF Mustang (25th May. 1990) = mustang.zip
preview Vanguard (SNK) = vanguard.zip

  Isometrically Scrolling

preview Paperboy (rev 3) = paperboy.zip
preview Super Zaxxon (315-5013) = szaxxon.zip

  Planar

preview Astro Blaster (version 3) = astrob.zip
preview Carnival (upright) = carnival.zip
preview Dead Eye = deadeye.zip
preview Galaga (Namco rev. B) = galaga.zip
preview Ozon I = ozon1.zip
preview Pooyan = pooyan.zip
preview Space Invaders Part II (Taito) = invadpt2.zip
preview Space Zap = spacezap.zip
preview Tac/Scan = tacscan.zip
preview War of the Worlds = wotw.zip

  Run 'n' Gun

preview Berzerk (set 1) = berzerk.zip
preview Green Beret = gberet.zip
preview Metal Slug - Super Vehicle-001 = mslug.zip
preview Michael Jackson's Moonwalker (World) (FD1094/8751 317-0159) = mwalk.zip
preview Robocop (World revision 4) = robocop.zip
preview Rolling Thunder 2 = rthun2.zip
preview Shadow Dancer (World) = shdancer.zip
preview Sunset Riders (4 Players ver EAC) = ssriders.zip
preview ThunderJaws (rev 3) = thunderj.zip

  Variety

preview Guts n' Glory (prototype) = guts.zip
preview Tenkomori Shooting (Asia, TKM2/VER.A1) = tenkomor.zip

  Vertically Scrolling

preview 1942 (Revision B) = 1942.zip
preview Flying Shark (World) = fshark.zip
preview Gun.Smoke (World, 851115) = gunsmoke.zip
preview Halley's Comet (US) = halleys.zip
preview Raiden II (US, set 1) = raiden2.zip
preview Thunder Dragon 2 (9th Nov. 1993) = tdragon2.zip
preview Vapor Trail - Hyper Offence Formation (World revision 1) = vaportra.zip
preview Xevious (Namco) = xevious.zip

  Zone

preview Gridlee = gridlee.zip
preview Gyruss = gyruss.zip
preview Millipede = milliped.zip
preview Repulse = repulse.zip

 Sports

  Air Hockey

preview SportTime Table Hockey (Arcadia, set 1, V 2.1) = ar_airh.zip

  Baseball

preview Double Play = dplay.zip
preview Great Sluggers '94 = gslgr94u.zip
preview Pro Baseball Skill Tryout (Japan) = tryout.zip
preview Relief Pitcher (set 1, 07 Jun 1992 / 28 May 1992) = relief.zip

  Basketball

preview Run and Gun (ver EAA 1993 10.8) = rungun.zip
preview Street Hoop / Street Slam / Dunk Dream (DEM-004 ~ DEH-004) = strhoop.zip

  Bowling

preview Alley Master = alleymas.zip
preview Capcom Bowling (set 1) = capbowl.zip
preview World Class Bowling Deluxe (v2.00) = wcbowldx.zip

  Boxing

preview Pound for Pound (World) = poundfor.zip
preview Vs. T.K.O. Boxing = tkoboxng.zip

  Darts

preview World Darts (Arcadia, set 1, V 2.1) = ar_dart.zip

  Dodgeball

preview Super Dodge Ball / Kunio no Nekketsu Toukyuu Densetsu = sdodgeb.zip

  (Fantasy Sports)

   preview Battle Flip Shot = flipshot.zip
      preview Blastaball (Arcadia, V 2.1) = ar_blast.zip
         preview Heavy Smash (Europe version -2) = hvysmsh.zip
            preview Penguin-Kun Wars (US) = pkunwar.zip
               preview Stone Ball (4 Players) = stonebal.zip
                  preview Windjammers / Flying Power Disc = wjammers.zip

  Fencing

preview Great Swordsman (World?) = gsword.zip

  Fishing

preview Angler Dangler (DECO Cassette) = cadanglr.zip
preview Fishin' Frenzy (prototype) = fishfren.zip

  Football

preview Cyberball (rev 4) = cyberbal.zip
preview Gridiron Fight = gridiron.zip
preview NFL Blitz (boot ROM 1.2) = blitz.zip ~ blitz.chd

  Golf

preview Golden Tee '97 (v1.30) = gt97.zip
preview Major Title 2 (World, set 1) = majtitl2.zip

  Hockey

preview Bull Fighter = bullfgtr.zip
preview Hit the Ice (US) = hitice.zip

  Horse Racing

preview Dark Horse Legend (GX706 VER. JAA) = darkhleg.zip ~ 706jaa02.chd
preview Neck-n-Neck (v1.2) = neckneck.zip
preview Stakes Winner 2 = stakwin2.zip

  Horseshoes

preview Shuuz (version 8.0) = shuuz.zip

  Miniature Golf

preview Mini Golf (11/25/85) = minigolf.zip

  Pool

preview Pocket Gal (Japan) = pcktgal.zip
preview Rack 'em Up (program code L) = rackemup.zip
preview Tri-Pool (Casino Tech) = tripool.zip
preview Video Eight Ball = 8ball.zip

  Rugby

preview Pigskin 621AD (rev 1.1K 8/01/90) = pigskin.zip

  Shuffleboard

preview Shuffleshot (v1.40) = shufshot.zip

  Skiing

preview Alpine Racer (Rev. AR2 Ver.D) = alpinerd.zip
preview Nagano Winter Olympics '98 (GX720 EAA) = nagano98.zip ~ nagano98.chd
preview Surf Planet (Version 4.1) = surfplnt.zip

  Soccer

preview Tecmo World Cup '90 (World) = wc90.zip

  Squash

preview Squash (Ver. 1.0) = squash.zip

  Sumo

preview Syusse Oozumou (Japan) = ssozumo.zip

  Swimming

preview Swimmer (set 1) = swimmer.zip
preview Toobin' (rev 3) = toobin.zip
preview Water Match (315-5064) = wmatch.zip

  Table Tennis

preview Konami's Ping-Pong = pingpong.zip

  Tennis

preview Super World Court (World) = swcourt.zip

  Track & Field

preview Field Day = fieldday.zip
preview Hyper Athlete (GV021 Japan 1.00) = hyperath.zip ~ gv021-j1.chd
preview Numan Athletics (World) = numanath.zip
preview Recordbreaker (World) = recordbr.zip

  Volleyball

preview Power Spikes (World) = pspikes.zip
preview U.S. Championship V'ball (US) = vball.zip

  Water Skiing

preview Tropical Angel = troangel.zip

  Wrestling

preview Body Slam (8751 317-0015) = bodyslam.zip
preview WWF Superstars (Europe) = wwfsstar.zip
preview Zen Nippon Pro-Wrestling Featuring Virtua (J 971123 V1.000) = znpwfv.zip

 Tabletop

  Klondike Solitaire

preview KlonDike+ = klondkp.zip

  Mahjong

preview Lovely Pop Mahjong JangJang Shimasho (Japan) = janjans1.zip
preview Super Real Mahjong P7 (Japan) = srmp7.zip
preview Taisen Hot Gimmick (Japan) = hotgmck.zip

  Othello

preview Don Den Lover Vol. 1 - Shiro Kuro Tsukeyo! (Japan) = ddenlovj.zip

  Renju

preview Renju Kizoku = renju.zip

  Shougi

preview Joryuu Syougi Kyoushitsu (Japan) = jsk.zip

Note: This files offered here are assuming "MAME64 0.174". Emulators other than "MAME" are available that may produce even better emulation results.